Ngū Kīoro…
Harikoa Ake – celebrating togetherness

The New Zealand Symphony Orchestra and Wellington City Council present Ngū Kīoro… Harikoa Ake – celebrating togetherness, a celebration of the enormous effort New Zealanders made to protect the vulnerable and eliminate COVID-19. 

Internationally renowned tenor Simon O’Neill and rising star soprano Eliza Boom join the Orchestra for an evening of classics from Bizet’s Carmen, Puccini’s La Bohème and Verdi’s Otello

A celebration of New Zealand wouldn’t be complete without our own music. Gareth Farr’s From the Depths Sound the Great Sea Gongs and John Psathas’ ecstatic Tarantismo feature, while vocalist Maisey Rika and Taonga Pūoro specialist Horomona Horo perform music from the NZSO’s successful 2019 An Instrumental Voyage Pae Tawhiti, Pae Tata concert. 

The full power of the Orchestra will be on show for Richard Strauss’ inspirational Suite from Der Rosenkavalier before all our guest soloists and singers from Voices New Zealand Chamber Choir join the Orchestra for a special finale, the beloved waiata Pōkarekare Ana.

Supporting Music in Wellington 

Ngū Kīoro… Harikoa Ake – celebrating togetherness 
is a free event, but you will have the opportunity to make a koha when booking your tickets if you wish. All koha contributions from the concert go toward supporting musical development in the Greater Wellington Region. This will involve enriching programmes of community musical ensembles of all ages by providing opportunities for coaching, rehearsal support and ongoing mentoring facilitated by Players of the NZSO.

Explore more like this

Hamish McKeich

Maisey Rika

Horomona Horo
Taonga pūoro

Eliza Boom

Simon O’Neill

Singers from Voices New Zealand Chamber Choir

Gareth Farr
From the Depths Sound the Great Sea Gongs: I. The Invocation of the Sea

Carmen Suite No. 1: VI. Les Toreadors

Carmen: Parle Moi de ma Mere

Carmen Suite No. 2: VI. Danse Bohème

John Psathas

Maisey Rika
Tangaroa Whakamautai

Maisey Rika
Taku Mana

La Boheme: Mi chiamano Mimi

La Boheme: O soave fanciulla

Otello: Niun mi tema

R. Strauss
Suite from Der Rosenkavalier, Op. 59

Pōkarekare Ana

Keep the Music Going

Support Your Orchestra

Your support allows us to continue these concerts.


Follow Us for Updates

Now, more than ever, we all must share the music.

Thanks to our Partners

Without you, this would not be possible.

View all Partners